Committee of Trustees

2021–22 Committee of Trustees

Vincent A. Calarco - past parent
Vice President
Gwen E. Evans ’84

Lynn Jackson Quinn - past parent
Niall M. Ferguson ’92
Head of School
Kai Bynum

Eleanor C. Babbitt '76
Barry D. Blake - current parent
Marvin Chun - past parent
Kristin Collier - current parent
Nicholas Dawidoff '81
Daniel B. Hurwitz '82 - past parent
Medina Tyson Jett ’83
Erin Johnson '04 - Alumni Association Representative
Donald Kendall, Jr. - past parent
L'Heureux Lewis-McCoy '96
Mark H. Lynch '62
Zehra Patwa - past parent
Aaron Sack '89 - current parent
Joshua D. Samuelson '91 - current parent
Peter G. Sasaki '87
Lisa C. Takoudes - current parent, Parent Association Representative
Gregory R. Tanner ’92 - current parent

List of 1 items.

  • About the Committee of Trustees

    The first Hopkins Committee of Trustees was appointed by the Reverend John Davenport in April, 1668. The Committee then, as now, was often referred to as the "Hopkins Board." Davenport, as principal executor of the educational trust established by Edward Hopkins, transferred his rights and responsibilities to the new committee via a deed of trust. In addition to bequeathing £412 to the Trustees, Davenport's grant set forth a number of Trustee responsibilities. First among them was the stipulation that the funds be used for a grammar school in New Haven to bring up "hopefull youths in the Languages, and other good Literature for the public use and service of their country…and for no other use, interest, or purpose whatsoever."
    Read More