Prize Day 2019

On Thursday morning, June 6, Hopkins held it’s annual Prize Day celebration under the big tent on Pratt Field. The Hopkins community gathered for the last time this school year as students from all grades were awarded prizes for their achievements.
Please see the list of prize winners below, some of which were awarded on June 6 and others on May 24 at the Yearbook and Awards assembly. See video of all the awards below the list.

Photos by Judy Sirota Rosenthal
*The best way to download photos from these galleries is to login to the website, and go to the "Featured Content" option under the News tab.
Prizes and Awards 2018 – 2019
Presented on May 24 and June 6, 2019
Mary Brewster Thompson Scholar – Ethan Silver
Norman L. Stone Award – Elise Aslanian
Donald Ferguson Award – Charles Mason and Sarah Lopez
F. Allen Sherk Award – Madeleine Walker
John A. Wilkinson Award – Nathaniel Stratton
Michael J. Theobald Prize – Samuel Jenkins
Gerald F. Stevens Memorial Scholarship – Jordan Shand
Edward A. Bouchet Scholarship – Michael Christie 
Mary Brewster Thompson Scholar – Sarah Roberts
George Blakeman Lovell Award – Alex Weisman
Andrew Rossetti Prize – Deniz Tek
Harvard Book Prize – Yasmin Bergemann
Kenyon College Presidential Book Prize – Margaret Czepiel
Smith Book Award – Sophie Cassarino
Yale Book Award – Elizabeth Roy
Wellesley College Book Prize – Julia Tellides
Mount Holyoke Book Prize – Rayane Taroua
Ellen Patterson Brown ‘62 Award – Courtney Banks
The University of Chicago Book Award – C Burton Lyng-Olsen
St. Lawrence University Book Award – Anne Marie Dooher
William and Mary Leadership Award –  Lilliana DeLise
George Washington University Book Award – Emma Regan
Mary Brewster Thompson Scholar – Abigail Fossati
Stanley Daggett Award – Ella Zuse
Mary Brewster Thompson Scholar – Cyrus Kenkare
Stanley Daggett Award – Lucas Alfaro 
Lydia von Wettberg Award – Laila Samuel
Simeon E. Baldwin Leadership Award – Ingrid Slattery
Kristin Ridinger Taurchini Award – Tanner Lee
Lydia von Wettberg Award – Jonathan Perez
Simeon E. Baldwin Leadership Award – Rose Robertson 
Paul W. Schueler Prize for the Visual Arts – Francine Giaimo, Grade 12
Drama Award – Samuel Jenkins, Grade 12
The Charles Ives Music Prize – Sophia Colodner, Grade 12
Choral Music Award – Katherine Broun, Grade 12
Scholastic Art Award National Silver Medal in Photography – Kate Loffredo, Grade 11 
Clare McNamee Latin Prize – Noah Schmeisser, Grade 12
Junior School Latin Prize – Isabel Clare, Grade 8
Jeremiah Peck Greek Prize – Clare Chemery, Grade 12
Major James Dudley Dewell Letter Writing Prize – Melody Cui, Grade 8
Baldwin Prize Essay, Middle School – Maisie Bilston, Grade 9
Baldwin Prize Essay, Senior School – Alexandra Zyskowski, Grade 11
John B. Smith Prize for Excellence in English in Grade 8 – Ingrid Slattery
Brown University Book Award – Anna Simon, Grade 11
Elizabeth Tate Prize for Excellence in English in Grade 11 – Katherine Takoudes
Elsie Church Award for English and Dramatics – Leul Abate, Grade 12
Elizabeth Lewis Day Prize for Excellence in Imaginative Writing – Naomi Tomlin, Grade 12
Helen Hope Barton Prize for Excellence in English in Grade 12 – Sofia Schroth-Douma
George Gillespie Prize for Excellence in Literary Scholarship – Maliya Ellis, Grade 12
The Susan E. Feinberg Prize for Excellence in Critical Thinking Through the Written Word – Emma DeNaples, Grade 12
The Karen Lee Pritzker Prize for Creative Writing – Lizabeth Bamgboye, Grade 11

Kenneth Hopkins Rood History Prize – Miko Coakley, Grade 8
Julia B. Thomas History Prize – Julia Kosinski, Grade 10
DeLaney Kiphuth Prize in History – Elena Brennan, Grade 11
Gerald F. Stevens Award – Connor Hartigan, Grade 12
Edgar M. Babbitt Junior School Mathematics Prize – Rhea Ahuja, Grade 8
Edgar M. Babbitt Middle School Mathematics Prize – Sam Brock, Grade 10
Clayton Hall Mathematics Prize – Ethan Silver, Grade 12
John M. Heath Mathematics Prize – Amber Jaffe, Grade 12
Edward R. DeNoyon French Prize – Connor Hartigan, Grade 12
Denise M. Katz French Prize – Yoon-Young Kim, Grade 12
The Spanish Literature Prize – Maliya Ellis, Grade 12
The Spanish Letters Prize – Siraj Patwa, Grade 12
The Chinese Letters Prize – Liana Tilton, Grade 12
The Italian Letters Prize – Olivia Capasso, Grade 12
Aracy Belcher Biology Prize – Cameron Murray, Grade 9
Harold Shelton Kirby Science Prize – Jasmine Simmons, Grade 10
Rensselaer Medal – Parker Connelly, Grade 11
Josiah Willard Gibbs Prize – Siraj Patwa, Grade 12
Fairfield University and Sikorsky Aircraft Excellence in Science and Math Award – Nathan Ahn, Grade 11
Dorrance Award – Jack Dove, Grade 12
The Hopkins Award – Maliya Ellis, Grade 12
Robert Wyant Memorial Award – Michael Christie, Grade 12
Jerri Trulock DPH Sportsmanship Award – Paige DeVoe, Grade 12
William DeGennaro Outstanding Male Athlete Award – Owen Sherman, Grade 12
Outstanding Female Athlete Award – Sara Chung, Grade 12
John A. Doughan Award – Olivia Capasso and Sana Patel, Grade 12
Jordan William Sebastian Award – Elise Aslanian, Douglas Guilford, and Jordan Shand, Grade 12
Walter Camp Award (Junior School) – Arcadio Cerezo-Lizarribar, Grade 8
DPH Sportsmanship Award (Junior School) – Miko Coakley, Grade 9