Five Seniors Named Presidential Scholar Candidates

Five graduating seniors from Hopkins were named candidates in the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars program. The candidates are Parker Connelly, Corinne Evans, Sophia Fitzsimonds, Sarah Roberts, and Kyle Shin. 
They are among 4,500 candidates selected from more than 3.6 million students expected to graduate from U.S. high schools in 2020. Among independent schools in Connecticut, Hopkins is proud to have the most candidates selected. Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

The program was established in 1964 by a presidential executive order to recognize the country's top seniors for their accomplishments in academics, leadership and service to school and community.

A panel of educators will review the candidates and select about 600 semifinalists in early April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of up to 32 citizens appointed by the president, will select the finalists.

The U.S. Department of Education will announce the winning scholars in May.

Up to 161 scholars are chosen annually from among the year's top graduating seniors who represent "excellence in education and the promise of greatness in America's youth."

All scholars are invited to Washington, D.C., in June for a national recognition program featuring various events and enrichment activities, culminating in the presentation of the Presidential Scholars Medallion during a White House-sponsored ceremony.