Prize Day 2022

Click here to browse and download photos from Prize Day.

Hopkins held its annual Prize Day celebration on Thursday morning, June 9, under the big tent on Pratt Field. The community gathered for the last time this school year as students from all grades were awarded prizes for their achievements. Following the prize ceremony, Student Council president Joy X. presented Dr. Bynum with a special banner signed by Hopkins students, faculty and staff. The event culminated in the reveal of the beautiful 2022 Class Banner, created by senior artists Gisella Castagna, Jessica Chapman, Chase Stevens-Scanlan, Julia Sotelo-Emery, Leela DeSilva, and Ayelet Kaminski. 
Please see the list of prize winners below, some of which were awarded on June 9 and others on May 27 at the Yearbook and Awards Assembly. Watch a video of the full presentation below. 

Prizes and Awards 2021–2022

Presented on May 27 and June 9, 2022

Mary Brewster Thompson Scholar – Haniya Farooq
Norman L. Stone Award – Zachary Williamson
Donald Ferguson Award – Jacqueline Drummond
Donald Ferguson Award – Yaqub Bajwa
Michael J. Theobald Prize – Felipe Perez
John A. Wilkinson Award – Robert Lawler
F. Allen Sherk Award – Nati Tesfaye
Gerald F. Stevens Memorial Scholarship – Fiona Li

Mary Brewster Thompson Scholar – Amy Metrick
George Blakeman Lovell Award – Mikiko Coakley
Harvard Book Prize – Nicholas Lee
Yale Book Award – Ingrid Slattery
Andrew Rossetti Prize – Harini Thiruvengadam
Smith Book Award – Isabel Clare
Ellen Patterson Brown ’62 DPH Award – Dhalia Brelsford
The University of Chicago Book Award – Savan Parikh
St. Lawrence University Book Award – Sciana Vertusma
William and Mary Leadership Award –  Luke O’Connell

Mary Brewster Thompson Scholar – Vedant Aryan
Stanley Daggett Award – Daya Baum

Mary Brewster Thompson Scholar – Claire Billings
Stanley Daggett Award – Julia DiMiceli

Lydia von Wettberg Award – Oliver Hudonogov Foster
Simeon E. Baldwin Leadership Award – Liliana Dumas 
Kristin Ridinger Taurchini Award – Mia Callot 

Lydia von Wettberg Award – Annaliese Chavez
Simeon E. Baldwin Leadership Award – Michael Mfuko 

Paul W. Schueler Prize for the Visual Arts – Leela DeSilva, Grade 12
Drama Award – Zachary Williamson, Grade 12
The Charles Ives Music Prize – Joanna Lu, Grade 12
Choral Music Award – Orly Baum, Grade 12
Louis Armstrong Jazz Award – Jacob Ragaza, Grade 12 

Clare McNamee Latin Prize – Andrew Sack, Grade 12
Junior School Latin Prize – Thomas O’Connell, Grade 8

Major James Dudley Dewell Letter Writing Prize – Liliana Dumas, Grade 8
Baldwin Prize Essay, Middle School – Isabel Pizarro, Grade 10
Baldwin Prize Essay, Senior School – Melody Cui, Grade 11
John B. Smith Prize for Excellence in English in Grade 8 – Abigail Rakotomavo
Brown University Book Award – Esmé Olshan-Cantin, Grade 11
Elizabeth Tate Prize for Excellence in English in Grade 11 – Benjamin Card
Elsie Church Award for English and Dramatics – Orly Baum, Grade 12
Elizabeth Lewis Day Prize for Excellence in Imaginative Writing – Eesha Rao, Grade 12
Helen Hope Barton Prize for Excellence in English in Grade 12 – Maisie Bilston
George Gillespie Prize for Excellence in Literary Scholarship – Lauren Sklarz, Grade 12
The Susan E. Feinberg Prize for Excellence in Critical Thinking Through the Written Word – Cameron Murray, Grade 12
The Karen Lee Pritzker Prize for Creative Writing – Sofia Schaffer, Grade 11

Kenneth Hopkins Rood History Prize – Aerin O’Brien, Grade 8
Julia B. Thomas History Prize – Florence Polak, Grade 10
DeLaney Kiphuth Prize in History – Amalia Tuchmann, Grade 11
Gerald F. Stevens Award – William Foster, Grade 12

Margaret Wright Junior School Mathematics Prize – Kyle Abrahamsen, Grade 8
Paul Fossett Middle School Mathematics Prize – Ryan Coffey, Grade 10
Clayton Hall Mathematics Prize – Brandon Faunce, Grade 12
John M. Heath Mathematics Prize – William Vianese, Grade 12

Edward R. DeNoyon French Prize – Owen Lamothe, Grade 12
Denise M. Katz French Prize – Laura Colonna de Lega, Grade 12
The Spanish Literature Prize – Maisie Bilston, Grade 12
The Spanish Letters Prize – Kyle Holler, Grade 11
The Yan Phou Lee Chinese Prize – Alistair Selby, Grade 12
The Italian Letters Prize – Julia Loffredo, Grade 12

Aracy Belcher Biology Prize – Saki Tomita, Grade 9
Harold Shelton Kirby Science Prize – James Maroney, Grade 10
Rensselaer Medal – Arin Bhandari, Grade 11
Josiah Willard Gibbs Prize – Kyle Robik, Grade 12

Dorrance Award – William Cooper, Grade 12
The Hopkins Award – Ava Hamblett, Grade 12
Robert Wyant Memorial Award – William Blumenthal, Grade 12
Jerri Trulock DPH Sportsmanship Award – Nana Dondorful-Amos, Grade 12
William DeGennaro Outstanding Male Athlete Award – Zachary Bleil, Grade 12
Outstanding Female Athlete Award – Nataly Moravec, Grade 12
John A. Doughan Award – Robert Lawler, Grade 12
Jordan William Sebastian Award – Jennifer Alaska, Grade 12
Jordan William Sebastian Award – Charlie Wich, Grade 12
Walter Camp Award (Junior School) – Rocco DeMaio III, Grade 8
DPH Sportsmanship Award (Junior School) – Chloe Gordon, Grade 8
    • Voted #1
      Best Day School
      in CT, 2022

Hopkins is a private middle school and high school for grades 7-12. Located on a campus overlooking New Haven, CT, the School takes pride in its intellectually curious students as well as its dedicated faculty and staff.