Seniors honored by the National Merit Scholars Program

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the PSAT—a test which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.5 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

The College Board’s National Recognition Programs award academic honors to sophomores and juniors who take the PSAT and who identify as African American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, or Indigenous, or attend high school in a rural area or small town.

This year, Joseph Cardenas and Alexander Lopez were recognized by the National Hispanic Recognition Program.
Seniors Andrew Benjamin, Amir McFerren, and Preston Parker were recognized by the National African American Recognition Program.
Eight students who were recognized as National Merit finalists this year, congratulations to:

Vedant Aryan
Joseph Cardenas
Eric Liao
Alana Palmer
Florence Polak
Matthew Woolbert
Adam Zheng 
Andrew Zheng

Three of our seniors are National Merit Scholarship winners, a distinction awarded to less than one percent of students who take part in the National Merit Program. Congratulations to:

Vedant Aryan
Ryan Coffey 
Matthew Woolbert
    • NMS Winners - Aryan, Woolbert, & Coffey

    • NMS Finalists - Cardenas, Liao, Polak, Palmer, Aryan, Woolbert, Coffey

    • NMS Finalists - Adam & Andrew Zheng

    • National Hispanic Recognition Program - Cardenas and Lopez

    • National African American Recognition Program - Benjamin, McFerren, Parker

    • Voted #1
      Best Day School
      in CT, 2024

Hopkins is a private middle school and high school for grades 7-12. Located on a campus overlooking New Haven, CT, the School takes pride in its intellectually curious students as well as its dedicated faculty and staff.