Eight Seniors named Presidential Scholar Candidates

Eight graduating seniors from Hopkins were named candidates in the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholar program. The candidates are (pictured from top left) Noam Benson-Tilsen, Connor Davis, Abigail Fossati, Jonathan Hwa, Thomas Lasersohn, Noah Stein, Hannah Szabo, and David Zhou.

They are among 4,000 candidates selected from more than 3.6 million students expected to graduate from U.S. high schools in 2021. Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

The program was established in 1964 by a presidential executive order to recognize the country's top seniors for their accomplishments in academics, leadership and service to school and community.

A panel of educators will review the candidates and select about 600 semifinalists in early April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of up to 32 citizens appointed by the president, will select the finalists.

The U.S. Department of Education will announce the winning scholars in May.
Up to 161 scholars are chosen annually from among the year's top graduating seniors who represent "excellence in education and the promise of greatness in America's youth."
All scholars are invited to Washington, D.C., in June for a national recognition program featuring various events and enrichment activities, culminating in the presentation of the Presidential Scholars Medallion during a White House-sponsored ceremony.