Distinguished Alumni and Fellows

Distinguished Alumni

Hopkins is proud of its alumni – talented men and women who are making outstanding contributions in their professions or fields of endeavor. To recognize excellence among its graduates, each year the Hopkins Distinguished Alumnus/a Award is presented at Alumni Weekend in May. Service to the School is not a factor; however, willingness to interact with the Hopkins community during Alumni Weekend is essential. Nominations are accepted at any time during the year, and self-nominations are welcome. (Please click here for a nomination form.)

Please email your nominations to Donna Vinci, or send nominations by regular mail to:

Hopkins Alumni Office
986 Forest Road
New Haven, Connecticut 06515
The Honorable Frank A. Iannotti '72 HGS
Presiding Judge of the Ansonia/Milford District Superior Court in Connecticut

Dr. Phoebe Ellsworth, Ph.D. '61 DPH
Frank Murphy Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Law at the University of Michigan (retired)

Jean Bennett '72 DPH
Molecular Geneticist

Francisco Palmieri '79
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary at the U.S. Department of State

Carol Stock Kranowitz '63 DPH
Author, Educator and leading expert in Sensory Processing Disorder

David I. Newton '67 HGS
Philanthropist, Community Leader,
Former President Hopkins Committee of Trustees

Vincent R. Volpe, Jr. '76 
Retired President & CEO, Dresser-Rand Group, Inc.

James Lapides ’70 HGS
Gallery Owner, Collector, and Curator

Lincoln Caplan ’68 HGS
Journalist, Author, and Teacher

Dr. George McLean Milne, Jr.  ’61 HGS
Chemist & Pharmacologist

Howard K. Koh '69 HGS
Physician and Assistant Secretary for Health and Human Services

Merrick R. Kleeman ’81
Investment Banker and Philanthropist

Edward Hopkins, 1600–1657
HGS Benefactor, Colonial Governor, and Member of Parliament

Harold H. Koh '71 HGS
International Law Expert, Educator, and Human Rights Activist

Lisa M. DeAngelis ’73

Ellen Patterson Brown ’62 DPH
Developmental Anthropologist

John Geanakopolos ’71 HGS
Economist and Professor of Economics

Richard M. Mapes ’43 HGS
Spiritual and Community Leader

Thomas K. Burkhard ’65 HGS
Medical doctor and Military Commander

Ronald R. Wilmore ’61 HGS
Community Educator

Dan Wasserman ’67 HGS
Political Cartoonist

Ellen Propper Mickiewicz ’56 PH
Scholar and Global Communications Leader

Michael L. J. Apuzzo ’57 HGS
Academic Neurosurgeon, Innovator, and Futurist

Tandy Beal ’64 DPH
Dancer, Director, Choreographer, and Actress

Richard A. Ferguson ’63 HGS
Communications Leader and Humanitarian

Edmund J. Fusco ’41 HGS
Builder and Civic Leader

George R. DiCenzo ’58 HGS    
Actor and Arts Activist

Anne Tyler Calabresi ’52 PH
Community Activist

Guido Calabresi ‘49
Educator and Judge

John C. Malone ’59 HGS
Telecommunications Visionary

Hanna Holborn Gray ’46 PH
Professor and University President

Paul B. MacCready, Jr. ’43 HGS
Scientist and Inventor

Alumni Fellows Program

The Alumni Fellows Program, established in 2005, seeks to “enrich the Hopkins learning experience by exposing students to alumni who will inspire, challenge, engage and educate students by sharing their unique life experiences.”
Nominations are accepted at any time during the year, and self-nominations are welcome.

Please email your nominations to Donna Vinci, Manager of Stewardship & Development Communications or send nominations by regular mail to:
Hopkins Alumni Office
986 Forest Road
New Haven, Connecticut 06515
The following Hopkins alumni have received this honor and the School has been honored by their participation in this program:

Dr. Aneesh Garg '97
Sports Medicine Physician specializing in muscoloskeletalal injuries, including concussion management and fracture care.

Dr. Candice Norcott '97 
Licensed Clinical Psychologist in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience at the University of Chicago


Julia Marchesi '98
Documentary Filmmaker


Tara Bishop '93
Medical Doctor and Expert Consultant on Healthcare Cost & Delivery
Junta Nakai '00
Business Adviser, Investor, Leader in Finance Technology and A.I.


Kelly Cortina '97
Vice President of Global Merchandising at Under Armour

Josiah Kaplan ’01
Research Advisor, Global Migration and Displacement Initiative, Save the Children International


Theo LeCompte '97
Deputy Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor to the Secretary for Strategy and Operations at the U.S. Department of Commerce

Laina Jones Cox '97
Founding Principal of the Middle School for Capital City Charter School in Washington, DC

Peter B. Bailey '94
Technology Entrepreneur

Clare Morgana Gillis '94
Independent Foreign Correspondent
Jacoba Zelinsky Urist '94
Arts, Culture and Health Journalist


Nicholas Britell '99
composer, pianist, and producer

Justin Kutcher '98
Sports Broadcaster


Melinda Crowley '88
Social Scientist & U.S. Diplomat

William J. Mack '92


Ari Friedlaender '92
Marine Ecologist & Research Scientist

Ben Wizner '89
Director of ACLU's Speech, Privacy & Technology Project

Spring 2012
Carolyn Hax ’84
Advice Columnist, Washington Post

Fall 2011
Kevin Colleran ’99
Director of National Sales, Facebook

Spring 2011
Melissa A. Robbins ’89
Executive Chef, A Voce

Fall 2010
Nicholas C. Weinstock ’87
Author, Television and Movie Producer

Winter 2010
Massimo Calabresi ’85
Washington Correspondent, Time Magazine

Fall 2009
Andrew D. Horowitz ’99
Director, Oral History Project at Yale & Imaging New Orleans

Winter 2009
Elisha Cooper ’89
Author and Illustrator

Fall 2008
Melissa Cannon Guzy ’83
Entrepreneur and Managing Director, VantagePoint Venture Partners

Winter 2008
Melanie Cohen Greenberg ’82
President and founder, Cypress Fund for Peace and Security

Fall 2007
Nicholas Dawidoff ’81

Winter 2007
Matthew T. Carrano ’87
Curator of Dinosauria, Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of Natural History

Fall 2006
William F. Dow III ’59 HGS
Criminal Defense Lawyer
    • Voted #1
      Best Day School
      in CT, 2022

Hopkins is a private middle school and high school for grades 7-12. Located on a campus overlooking New Haven, CT, the School takes pride in its intellectually curious students as well as its dedicated faculty and staff.